Lymphokines comprise that subset of cytokines produced by T lymphocytes, whereas monokines are secreted by monocytes. Modern usage employs the more general term 'cytokine'.

Lymphokines include:
colony-stimulating factors (CSFs), including GM-CSF
interferons (IFNs) - IFNγ
interleukins IL-1 to IL-8, IL-10, IL-13
● macrophage inflammatory protein-1 beta (MIP-1β)
● neuroleukin (lymphokine product of lectin-stimulated T cells)[s]
● osteoclast-activating factor
● platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF)
● transforming growth factor beta (TGFβ)
tumour necrosis factor-alpha (cachectin) (TNFα)
tumour necrosis factor-beta (TNFβ, lymphotoxin α, LT)

Actions of lymphokines include
activates B cells, inhibits macrophage function – IL-10
activation of neutrophils, eosinophils, and monocyte/macrophagesGM-CSF
● bone resorption – osteoclast activating factor
bone marrowgrowth and differentiation of immune cells – IL-3
B cell growth and differentiationIL-4
B cell differentiation, activates some microphages (PMN) – IL-5
costimulator of T cells, induces growth in B cellsIL-6
inflammation, fever, catabolism and cachexia, activation of some microphages – TNFs
hematopoiesis stimulators – IL-3, IL-7, GM-CSF
macrophage-activating activity (MAF) – IFN-γ
● stimulates proliferation of activated T and B cells – IL-2
● inhibits T cell growth, activates macrophagesTGFβ


Labels: , , , , , ,

. . . since 10/06/06